Blue Moves

Blue Moves

  1. Blue Moves is a road movie through a dystopian landscape transformed by climate change and the devastation of the Anthropocene. The piece draws on the work of the philosophers Timothy Morton whose notion of ‘agrilogistics’ described in Dark Ecology: For a Logic of Future Coexistence and Paul Preciado’s ‘pharmocopornographic capitalism’, described in Testo Junkie: Sex, Drugs and Biopolitics, detail a variety of exploitative economic models ranging from Antiquity to the present.
  2. Blue Moves is essentially an expression of ‘Solastagia’ a neologism that describes a form of mental or existential distress caused by environmental change, a sensation provoked by a world irredeemably thrown out of whack. A central figure in Blue Moves is that of the ‘Trümmerfrauen’ (rubble women) of post-WW2 Germany and symbol par excellence of the collective reconstruction of a disrupted space. The journey is undertaken in movement and song, notably a selection of blues songs speaking of loss and disaster.

Length : 52 min

The first dancer is already on stage when the audience enters. The other performers are waiting in full view stage left and become active when the lights go down.- At 22 min a duo begins, whilst at around 25 min the other two performers start spreading out the buckets stage left. The video concentrates on the duo.

Blue Moves

© Gregory Batardon

CAST

  • Conception : Rudi van der Merwe
  • Choreography : Rudi van der Merwe en collaboration avec les danseurs
  • Performance : Marthe Krummenacher, József Trefeli, Rudi vd Merwe, Kylie Walters
  • Music : Christian Garcia-Gaucher
  • Lights : Victor Roy
  • Administration : Laure Chapel / Pâquis Production
  • Promotion : Gabor Varga / BravoBravo
  • Production : Skree Wolf
  • Co-production / accueil studio : ADC de Genève
  • Support : SSA – Société Suisse des Auteurs, Pro Helvetia, Loterie Romande, Fondation Ernst Göhner, Fondation Nestlé pour l’Art

PERFORMANCES

  • 5-9 and 12-16 December 2018, ADC de Genève, Genève

Blue Moves

Blue Moves

  1. Blue Moves est un road movie à travers un paysage dystopique transformé par le changement climatique et les ravages de l’Anthropocène. La pièce s’inspire du travail des philosophes Timothy Morton, dont la notion d’agrilogistique est décrite dans Dark Ecology : For a Logic of Future Coexistence, et le capitalisme pharmocopornographique de Paul Preciado décrit dans Testo Junkie : sexe, drogue et biopolitique. Autant de stratégies d’exploitation dévastatrices allant de l’Antiquité à nos jours.
  2. Blue Moves est essentiellement une expression de la solastalgie, un néologisme qui décrit une forme de détresse psychique ou existentielle causée par les changements environnementaux. Une sensation générée par un monde en train de se dérégler irrémédiablement. Une figure centrale de Blue Moves est celle des Trümmerfrauen (les femmes des décombres) de l’Allemagne de l’après-guerre et symbole par excellence de la reconstruction collective d’un espace perturbé. Ce voyage est porté par une sélection de morceaux de blues parlant de la perte et la catastrophe.

Durée : 52 min
Avec l’entrée public, la première danseuse est déjà en mouvement sur le plateau. Les autres interprètes sont visibles côté cour et se mettent en mouvement après le noir salle. Commence un duo à 22 min et à partir de 25 min les deux autres interprètes commencent à étaler les seaux côté cour. La captation se concentre sur le duo.

Blue Moves

© Gregory Batardon

DISTRIBUTION

  • Conception : Rudi van der Merwe
  • Chorégraphie : Rudi van der Merwe en collaboration avec les danseurs
  • Interprètes : Marthe Krummenacher, József Trefeli, Rudi vd Merwe, Kylie Walters
  • Musique : Christian Garcia-Gaucher
  • Lumières : Victor Roy
  • Administration : Laure Chapel / Pâquis Production
  • Diffusion : Gabor Varga / BravoBravo
  • Production : Skree Wolf
  • Co-production / accueil studio : ADC de Genève
  • Soutiens : SSA – Société Suisse des Auteurs, Pro Helvetia, Loterie Romande, Fondation Ernst Göhner, Fondation Nestlé pour l’Art

REPRÉSENTATIONS

  • 5-9 et 12-16 Decembre 2018, ADC de Genève, Geneva